Site Scale Comparisons

I was having trouble visualising a site strategy for Canvey Island as I was really unsure of what scale I should be looking at, whether or not to focus on a small area along the sea wall, or to look at the island as a whole. I thought a scale comparison to some of the key precedent studies that I have been looking at would be a great starting point, so here are my new Canvey Islands…some are more successful than others, alongside some precedent pages from my portfolio. I especially like the Las Vegas overlay, and the comparisons to Black Rock City and Glastonbury were surprising as I didn’t realise Black Rock was so much bigger. Macau is almost an exact fit, and considering it is a Special Administrative Region on an island peninsula it has other similarities to Canvey than just its scale…

Leave a Reply

